TO:	Thomas Frutchey, City Manager
FROM:	Dick McKinley, Public Works Director
SUBJECT:	Supplemental Tax Oversight Committee Appointments
DATE:	June 7, 2016
Needs:	For the City Council to consider re-appointing 5 existing members, and appointing a sixth member to the Supplemental Tax Oversight Committee.
Facts:	1 The Supplemental Tax Oversight Committee was created by the City Council in December 2012, and given bylaws and initial member appointments in March 2013.
	2. The appointments included recommendations from four groups: Chamber of Commerce, Paso Robles Main Street Association, Senior Advisory Committee, and Travel Paso Robles Alliance.
	3. The six committee positions in question have expired their initial 3-year term. Four of the six members are Council-Selectees and are seeking reappointment; so is the representative of Main Street Association. The sixth position of the committee is the Chamber of Commerce appointee, and has declined re-appointment.
	4. The four Council Selectees—Katherine Barnett, Nick Gilman, Jake Hudson, and Thomas Tringham—have all requested to be re-appointed.
	5. The Main Street Association requests that Stephen King be re-appointed as its representative.
	6. All five members seeking reappointment have served with distinction.
	7. The Chamber of Commerce requests that John Arnold be appointed as its new representative, replacing John Bauer.
	8. Three additional members are mid-term.
Analysis & Conclusion:	To keep the Supplemental Tax Oversight Committee fully appointed, six appointments/re-appointments need to be made. The Main Street Association has requested that its representative be re-appointed, and the Chamber of Commerce has selected a new representative for appointment. The four Council-Selectees are all willing to be re-appointed to the committee.
Policy Reference:	Paso Robles Supplemental Tax Revenue Expenditure Advisory Committee Bylaws.

Fiscal Impact: There is no direct fiscal impact from the Committee appointments.

- Options: A. Re-appoint Katherine Barnett, Nick Gilman, Jake Hudson, Stephen King, and Thomas Tringham for an additional three-year term, and appoint John Arnold to an initial three-year term to the Supplemental Tax Oversight Committee, all six terms running from July 2016 through July 2019; or
 - B. Amend, modify, or reject the above option.