TO: James L. App, City Manager

FROM: Meg Williamson, Assistant City Manager

SUBJECT: TPRA - Advisory Member Appointments

DATE: April 15, 2014

FACTS:

NEEDS: For the City Council to consider extending the appointments of three Travel Paso Robles Alliance (TPRA) Advisory Committee members.

1. The Travel Paso Robles Alliance (TPRA) was established in 2009 in conjunction with the formation of the Tourism and Lodging Promotions Business Improvement District (BID).

- 2. The TPRA consists of seven members who advise City Council on the marketing/spending priorities for funds generated by the BID.
- 3. Members are appointed for 3-year staggered terms, and must be a hotelier to be eligible for membership on the TPRA.
- 4. Certain TPRA member appointments had been tied to "crossover" representation on the Promotions Coordinating Committee (PCC).
- 5. Three TPRA member terms will expire on April 30, 2014. These terms had been temporarily extended in October 2013 to allow time for the TPRA and PCC bylaws to be better coordinated/aligned.
- 6. The PCC has undergone restructuring to modify its name, focus and membership representation. Consequently, the TPRA bylaws have undergone revision to modify TPRA hotelier/membership representation on the newly restructured Tourism Collaboration Committee (TCC).

ANALYSIS AND

CONCLUSION: Extension of the following three appointments through October 2016 will properly align with the TPRA bylaws:

- Matt Masia (Adelaide Inn)
- Angela McKee (Best Western Black Oak)
- Victor Popp (La Quinta Inn & Suites)

These committee members have been attending meetings regularly and are in good standing. The proposed membership term extensions on the TPRA will ensure the continuity of the committee's work.

The remaining four committee member terms will expire October 2014. Recruitment and appointments for those seats will occur later this year.

POLICY

REFERENCE: Tourism and Lodging Promotions Business Improvement District Advisory

Committee (the TPRA) bylaws.

OPTIONS: a) For the City Council to extend the appointment of the following TPRA members through October 31, 2016:

Matt Masia Angela McKee Victor Popp

b. Amend, modify or reject the above options.