To: James App, City Manager

FROM: Ron Whisenand, Community Development Director

SUBJECT: San Luis Obispo Housing Trust Fund: Appointment of Commissioner

DATE: June 21, 2011

FACTS:

For the City Council to appoint a representative to sit on the San Luis Obispo County Housing NEEDS:

Trust Fund's (HTF) Commission.

1. Since 2005, the City's Redevelopment Agency has assisted the operations of the HTF with grants of Low and Moderate Income Housing (LMIH) Funds.

- 2. In 2006, the HTF offered the City the opportunity to appoint a representative to their Commission, which serves to make recommendations to HTF's Board of Directors on loan requests, policies, and procedures.
- 3. In October 2006, the City Council appointed the Housing Programs Manager (now City Planner) as the City's representative to the HTF Commission.
- 4. HTF's By-Laws provide that the Commission is to include one person designated by each participating jurisdiction. The By-Laws do not require that Commission members be elected officials. The current composition of the Commission is as follows:
 - a. 2 councilmembers (from Grover Beach and Morro Bay):
 - b. 4 staff members (from Arroyo Grande, Paso Robles, City of San Luis Obispo, and the County);
 - c. One member appointed by the Board of Directors (local banker);
 - d. One member from the San Luis Obispo Supportive Housing Consortium.
- 4. Attached is page from HTF's web site listing the members of their Board of Directors and Commission.
- 5. Copies of HTF's By-Laws, Articles of Incorporation, Code of Ethics, and several documents that explain the scope and details of their loans and procedures are on file in the Community Development Department.

ANALYSIS AND CONCLUSION:

The Commission meets monthly on the second Thursday at 3:00 pm at HTF's office in San Luis Obispo. Attendance at these meetings and preparation (reading the staff reports) generally takes 4 hours per month

Staff has found participation on the HTF Commission to be valuable in increasing its knowledge of issues and methods to advance development of affordable housing. Additionally, it offers an opportunity to collaborate with representatives from other jurisdictions in addressing the issue of providing affordable housing. However, with the reduction in staff resources in the Community Development Department, a regular commitment of 4 hours a month takes time away from working on such major projects as the Chandler Ranch, Olsen/Beechwood Specific Plans, and several other projects.

Staff has already had to miss several Commission meetings in the past two years as the Uptown/Town Centre Specific Plan was being prepared.

It is suggested, therefore, that the City Council consider appointing one of its members, or a member of the public to serve on the Commission until such time that staff has more resources available to devote to this activity.

REFERENCE: Redevelopment Agency Resolutions Awarding Grants of LMIH Funds to the HTF

FISCAL IMPACT: Insignificant (mileage reimbursement for travel to San Luis Obispo for Commission meetings).

OPTIONS: After consideration of all public testimony, that the City Council consider the following options:

- a. Appoint a councilmember to the Housing Trust Fund's Commission;
- b. Appoint a member of the public to the Housing Trust Fund's Commission
- c. Amend, modify, or reject the above option.

Prepared By: Ed Gallagher, City Planner

ATTACHMENT: List of members of HTF's Board of Directors and Commission





Our Team

The growth and success of the Fund has only been possible because of the dedicated work of our team of committed volunteers, staff and consultants.

Board of Directors

Member & Office	Affiliation
Dr. Julian D. Crocker, Chair	County Superintendent of Schools
Rachel Richardson, Vice- Chair	Housing Coordinator, AIDS Support Network
Dick Willhoit, Treasurer	President, Estrella Associates, Inc.
Dr. Allen Haile, Secretary	Community & Government Relations Director, Cal Poly University (retired); and SLO Economic Advisory Committee
R. Thomas ("Tom") Jones	Dean, Cal Poly College of Architecture and Environmental Design
Anita Robinson	President/CEO, Mission Community Bancorp
Leonard J. Grant, AIA	RRM Design Group
	(go to top of page)

Commission (Loan Committee)

`	,
Commissioner	Representing
Tyler Corey	City of San Luis Obispo
Ed Gallagher	City of Paso Robles
Kelly Heffernon	City of Arroyo Grande
Marianne Kennedy	SLO Supportive Housing Consortium
George Leage	City of Morro Bay
Dana Lilley	County of San Luis Obispo
Phyllis Molinar	City of Grover Beach
John Stocksdale	City of Pismo Beach
·	/ t- t t t

(go to top of page)

Staff

Jerry Rioux	Executive Director
Vivian Krug	Administrative Director

(go to top of page)

(c) 2004-11 San Luis Obispo County Housing Trust Fund - Privacy Policy - This page was last updated on 05/26/2011

Home

News!

About Us

Our Team

Supporters

Publications

Resources

Contact Us

Search Our Site



Donate Online



