MINUTES OF THE PASO ROBLES YOUTH COMMISSION

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Waste Water Treatment Plant, 3200 Sulphur Springs Road, Paso Robles

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Chairperson Fabian called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Secretary O'Neal took roll as follows:

5 - Members present: Nicholas Van Wiggeren, Nicki Fabian, Salomé Jansen Van Rensburg,

Talitha Jansen Van Rensburg, and Cameron Holt

7 - Absent: Noel Aschenbrener, Paul Cleland, Anthony Kalvans, Nikita Kinsell,

Travis Martinus, Arianna Meleandez, and Christian Prusi

City staff present: Charlotte Gorton, Julie Dahlen and Judy O'Neal

Absent: Vicky Jeffcoach

City Council Absent: Mayor Duane Picanco and Councilman Nick Gilman

Guest(s): Matt Thompson

CONSENT AGENDA

1. It was moved and seconded by Fabian/Holt to approve the Minutes of the January 5, 2011 meeting - motion carried.

BUSINESS ITEMS

2. Waste Water Treatment Plant

- Matt Thompson, Waste Water Manager, is a graduate of Paso Robles High School, attended Cal Poly and is an Environmental Engineer. Matt was hired by the City of Paso Robles in 2009 to assist in the management of water quality.
- o Matt gave a tour of the City's Waste Water Treatment Plant and discussed the history of the plant which was built in 1954.

AD HOC COMMITTEE UPDATES

Active Lifestyles for Teens

Youth Commission Minutes of 2/2/11

- o Members gave status of six-week program. When reports are complete, they can be dropped off at Centennial Park registration office or brought to the March meeting.
- o Charlotte/Vicky will get Noel, C.J., and Salomé pedometers and paperwork since they were absent when Vicky handed out at the January meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

- o It was moved and seconded by Fabian/Holt, to adjourn the meeting at 4:05 p.m.- motion carried.
- o Adjourn to the next regular meeting on Wednesday, March 2, 2011, 2:30 p.m., at the School District Board Room, 800 Niblick Road, Paso Robles.

THESE MINUTES WERE APPROVED BY THE YOUTH COMMISSION AT THEIR 3/2/11 MEETING

Respectfully submitted by secretaries: Arianna Meleandez and Judy O'Neal